Housekeeping

Housekeeping

My hotel room has several panels in the wall, but the one in the bathroom is the most interesting. When I came home one hot afternoon after my room had been cleaned, it felt like a heater was on. The bathroom felt like an oven: the cleaner had the bathroom heater on. Apparently she had hosed down the bathroom and turned on the heat to dry it. I used Google Lens in the translate app to figure out how to turn it off.

A few days later I had an idea after I did a load of laundry in the room’s washer (possible thanks to more camera-translating: I chose the “fashionable clothes” setting, assuming that would be “delicates” or at least permanent press.) I googled “drying clothes in Japanese bathroom” and sure enough, it’s a thing. https://www.japan-mobility.com/guide/how-to/bathroom-dryer

So that’s what I’m doing! No need to worry about my PJs drying in time for bed.

In the first photo above you can see the shower/bath area. I could wash onsen-style by sitting on the stool and scrubbing myself, or I can run a deep, hot bath (which I’ve done: lovely.) Normally I stand on the floor and take a shower, after removing all the towels and the bathmat.

I can also watch TV while taking a bath!

Coming soon: On Saturday I visited Tenryu-Ji, one of the prime viewing spots for autumn color.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.